Happy Thanksgiving!

I love Thanksgiving, I think it is my favorite holiday. The weather, colors, fashion, smells, smiles, and flavors! Not to mention all of the breaks from school or work. All of these things work together to make for a wonderful time of year.

Today we are having some family over to my parents’ house to enjoy the festivities. The cooking process started last night, I made gloriously gluten-free chewy pecan brittle from PaleOMG and OMG it is good. My sister has made some gluten filled pie and my parents made the gluten-ous cornbread for the stuffing (ha!)
Yes, I am making a gluten-free, paleo, Thanksgiving meal and I am very excited about it. I have found some good-looking recipes from some of my favorite sites I frequent. I had perused their holiday lists one day last week and had ideas in mind, but hadn’t put much thought in it since then. When Melissa was on her way to town yesterday she asked if I was prepared for my cooking and I thought “…uhh, woops! I went to Kroger this morning, I should have thought about that.” So, I checked the sites and actually had everything I needed already, thank goodness for a well-stocked paleo pantry and refrigerator! I will let you know what I actually attempt to cook and how it goes; I could change my mind before it actually happens. My plan is to make; Thanksgiving Caramelized Onion and Sausage Stuffing, Bacon Pecan Brussel Sprouts, Chunky Cranberry Sauce, and finish with the Chew Pecan Pie Brittle. These are from PaleOMG and Balanced Bites which are two of my go-to sites for recipes, information, and just some entertainment.
Since it is Thanksgiving, and I talked about being thankful for a well-stocked kitchen, I thought I would follow the crowds and make a list of the things I am thankful for. I heard yesterday that the key to happiness is enjoying where you are and enjoying the present. I think so often we tell ourselves, “I will be happy when (fill in the blank),” whether it is, “I get a promotion, I move to a new city, I lose 5 pounds” etc. it probably isn’t going to happen. When whatever you are waiting for happens you will probably say “well, it will be EVEN BETTER when…” We need to accept and appreciate where we are and who we are with now and not focus so much on the “what-ifs” in life. I had gotten caught up in that and still catch myself doing it every now and then, but I am working on it. I try to focus on Philippians 4:6 “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done.” I am so blessed I can’t list them all and I am sure you don’t want to read them all, but I will list the top highlights.

  1. God. Without my relationship with Him none of this would be the same and I would not have the joy and outlook on life that I do.
  2. My family. I have been blessed with such an awesome family that it is ridiculous. We enjoy spending time with each other and have a great time when we are together. I love that we can all be goofy and ourselves without worrying about judgment. They have been there for me through my lowest moments and supported me all along the way. I wasn’t always the nicest person when I was going through the worst parts of my eating disorder, but they suffered through it and loved me through the journey. You guys rock, just saying.
  3. My friends. I have some great, hilarious, goofy, loving, and entertaining friends! Looking back on my years at Tech and thinking of the people I met out there makes me smile. I made some of the best friends a girl could ask for and when we are together again it is like no time has passed. I love them and miss them and am so thankful for the time we spent together and the reunions we will have in the future! I also have great friendships that I have made since moving back here and starting my job. I am looking forward to what is in store for me here.
  4. My health. I am continually working on improving my health and am actually enjoying the journey. It is exciting as I make improvements and seeing how happy my nurse practitioner and nutritionist are when my lab work comes back improved.
  5. My job and co-workers. I sometimes get caught up in the complaining cycle, but I truly am thankful for my job and the people I work with. I work with great people and never have a day where someone doesn’t make me smile. I feel like my co-workers really care about each other and will go out of their way to help each other; maybe it is a small town thing. I don’t know, but it is good.
  6. My town. Yes, yes, shocking I know. I am thankful for the town that I live in and most (ha!) of the people in it. I sometimes think I am a big city girl, but I am a small town girl at heart. I am close enough to the city that I can drive there on the weekends and not deal with traffic and the hustle and bustle throughout the week. I am happy to be here and not get caught up in the city scene.

There is more that I could add to the list, but I will leave it at that for now. I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving and enjoys where they are now!

2 Replies to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Omg that paleo thanksgiving food sounds amazing! I am so hungry right now. That is true about living in the present. If we just stop and think about where we are in the moment we will realize we’re ok.

    1. It was SO good, I love Thanksgiving and can’t wait to try some more recipes at Christmas!
      We get so caught up in things that are wrong or fear of what could go wrong we don’t really realize how good things are now. I need to slow down and be here now. Not in tomorrow or something that happened last week.

Leave a Reply

