Who am I?

I’m Jean Val Jean!  Les Mis, anyone?  If not, you will understand once it comes out next month, which I am very excited about.  It looks really good, but I was disappointed when I didn’t get a call for a supporting role, I did such a good job when I was in the chorus in high school.  Anyways, I think that this is a question we all ask ourselves continuously throughout our lives and it is one that I have caught myself asking a time or two.

One of these moments was yesterday, when I was talking with a co-worker about how super sensitive my system is.  I can’t eat anything outside of my ordinary food unless I want to feel bad and puffy for the next week, “why me?!”  I wonder why this has happened to me, my sister can eat anything and not feel bad or put on a pound….even lose weight without even trying.  How is that fair?

I started reading a book last night about this, Learning to Be You which is about finding our true identity in Christ who sets us free.  I am only in chapter 1 but it is already causing me to look differently at my situation.  I have mentioned before that I am trying to focus on health and that my size does not define who I am as a person, but it is difficult to keep that in mind when I am uncomfortable in my own skin.  So, again I ask “why me?”

First, and foremost, I am a child of God.  This is constant throughout all of my decisions, “In love [God] predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will.” Ephesians 1:4-5.  No matter what I do, this remains the same, which is an awesome feeling.  Ephesians 2:10 says; “For we are God’s masterpiece.  He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.”  He planned for this…all of this.  So instead of asking “why me,” I need to be asking, “what can I do with this to bring glory to God?”  It sounds crazy, but maybe my reactions can help someone else.

We are children of God and have been created to bring him glory through our lives.  I am working on changing my focus and to stop asking “why me” and complaining about the things that I have and be thankful that this is my biggest concern.

I hope you have a great day!

2 Replies to “Who am I?”

  1. Pingback: Praise&Paleo

Leave a Reply

