“Change your words, change your life”

Screenshot_2012-12-01-04-31-10-1

I was talking to a co-worker this week about going to the gym after work and that I didn’t feel super motivated and she responded with “you don’t want to know how I get myself motivated, but it has been working for me.”  O goodness, I thought.  Let’s hear it.  It was something along the lines of “you are fat and look disgusting.”  O my.  She was right, I didn’t want to hear it.  I told her that I was going more for edification instead of destruction, because destruction has been an easy downward spiral for me to get into.

What would she say if I said those things to her?  If someone said that to me I am afraid I know what would happen and it would not be pretty for either party.  We would have words and my head would be rotating all over the place. (I tend to swing my head when I get an attitude…it’s REAL cute)  What do we allow ourselves to say internally (or even out loud) that we would not allow someone else to ever get away with saying to us?  Why do we get to beat ourselves up constantly?  I think we become numb to this, but the more we say it to ourselves, the more acceptable it becomes and the more likely the chances are of us believing it if someone else says it to us.

When reading Ephesians this morning, this verse stood out to me; “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10.  This stood out for several reasons, but the main one being “we are God’s workmanship,” we are his artwork, we are HIS creation.  When we talk down to ourselves we are not only criticizing us, we are criticizing God.  The artist who created us in His image.  I don’t know about you, but if an artist were standing next to me in front of his creation I wouldn’t say it were disgusting. I would have trouble saying anything negative about it, even if I didn’t like it at all I would try to find SOMETHING positive to say.  It might only be “it is hanging at a good height,” but I would try not to offend the artist.

So how many times do we criticize God when we tear ourselves down about things that He has created in us that aren’t exactly the way WE would want them?

I am definitely guilty of this, but I am continually trying to improve.  One year for Lent instead of giving up something, I decided that every time I said something negative about someone I had to say 3 good things about them.  I hate to admit it, but this was sometimes difficult for me to do. However, I really enjoyed it and could tell that it made a difference in my thoughts towards others.  I think that I will do this for myself.  Whenever I think something negative about myself, I will say 3 positive things.  I won’t be perfect at it, but will begin trying to make a difference.

“Change you words, change your life.”  Thank you, Joyce Meyer, for this little nugget of wisdom.

3 Replies to ““Change your words, change your life””

Leave a Reply

