Be Here Now

If you have never had kombucha, you should try it.  Seriously, I love this stuff.  I buy it by the case when I go to Dallas and am sitting here drinking GT’s Passionberry Bliss now.  My family thinks that I am crazy, but I love this stuff.  If you go somewhere that has it on tap, write it down and remember that place…it is a gem and should be frequented often to support them and their efforts to promote your gut health.

Ok, I am done with my kombucha rant – but seriously, try it.

I would like to say thank you, Sean Croxton, for this video.  I watched this over the weekend and am afraid to say that I was one of those women.  I was living in the gym on the treadmill and weights hoping to get smaller and more toned than I was the day before.  I had 2 of the 3 symptoms of the “Female Triad” – I never had a bone density test to confirm/deny the bone loss.

Flash forward to 2012 and I am no longer in that category.  My hormones are slowly getting back on track, my estrogen levels were immeasurable, but last month were at 27 which is still extremely low but it is progress!   The more I learn about the damage I was doing to my body the more surprised I get.  I had this ideal in my head about how lean I wanted to be, how I wanted my abs to look, etc.  I thought that I could get there by significantly reducing calories (I was eating ~900 cals/day) and working out daily with boxing, running, and weight training.   This led to over training, irritability, depression, and injuries.  Shocking, I know.  I thought that I was being healthy, had great discipline and self control, and just needed to work a little bit harder to get to that next level.  For what?  What would that “next level” of leanness get me?  I had great friends and family who loved and supported me no matter what size I was.  I’m not sure what I was hoping to gain by losing more.

Thank goodness I got out of that cycle.  I might not be as lean as I had once hoped of becoming, but I am as lean as I am supposed to be.  We are all built differently and need to love the state we are currently in.  I missed out on a lot because I was preoccupied with my next gym session or regretting what I had eaten at my last meal.

This video reminded me of where I have come from and reinforced that I am on the right track with where I am going.

Leave a Reply

