Taking advantage of the sunshine

Week 4 complete!  I had to take advantage of the sun while it decided to come out and shine.  It wasn’t the warmest weather, but I was ready to take off my jacket when I was finished.  Which I did and immediately regretted as the cold wind hit my clothes and body that were wet with sweat.  O well, it was a gorgeous afternoon and I start coverage tomorrow so I will not see the sun until Monday.  Yes, I get to work about 13 hours through Super Bowl weekend.  It could be worse, I could be working back shift (nights) and actually be interested in the Super Bowl (which I am not- at all) so it is all good.

My data from my run today - week 4 is done!
My data from my run today – week 4 is done!

The run went well and felt good.  My heels hurt in the beginning of the first run, but went away fairly quickly.  I bought orthotic inserts for my boots which helped immensely  (really, how old am I?) and the new work boots  that I had ordered finally came in last night (6-12 business days turned into 13 with a holiday in there too).  I am not going to lie, they are as cute as I am going to find.  I found a pair of steel-toed boots that look like Sperry’s!  It was very exciting, and even more exciting that they fit once they were delivered!

Dude, this past weekend I had no plans and it was fantastic.  Sunday afternoon after my nap I had so much energy and felt so relaxed, it was crazy.  It was an “a-ha” moment for me of “so this is what it feels like to be rested and not terribly stressed.  Man, what a world of difference it has been to my week!  It was a wake-up call to me and what I have been doing to my body for the past several months.

So I am on the right path to better health.  Mentally and physically.  I must admit, it feels  really good.  My digestion and health still aren’t where I would like them to be, but I am on my way.  It is about the journey, I am not where I was and is there really “an end”?  That option sounds a little menacing to me.   I’m just saying.

That has been a struggle for me in the past.  The thought of; “when I reach (insert random weight/size goal here) then I can (insert some cliché marker of happiness here)” As if there would be some sort of shift or ending when I reached that goal and my life would begin.  I could stop worrying about going to the gym and counting calories because my life would be good.  What in the world?  I still struggle with these things and know my triggers and have tried to remove them.  As I watch TV and see magazines I am not surprised at all that I have struggled with this.  We are continually bombarded with these images of what we are SUPPOSED to look like and what we SHOULD be doing.  We are shown images of what will give us this perfect, cookie cutter life.  Does it happen?  Nope.

We continue to chase after the next thing, continually trying to fill that void; looking for the next fix, the next greatest thing, fit into the next smaller size.  What fills that?  Only the love of God.  We are made in His image – so if there is a cookie cutter image out there, shouldn’t it be His that we are seeking?  To walk in love, give to others, treat others with respect?  Not trying to selfishly fill our wants and our needs for some vain worldly ideal of success.

Maybe we don’t have some of the things that we have asked for for our own protection.  Maybe He is keeping us closer to Him and using us to share His love to others through our weaknesses and wants.  I heard a quote this morning, “If you continue to pray for a miracle and don’t receive it, maybe it is because you are to be a miracle for someone else.”

Well, this post went places that I didn’t expect.  Plus it is random for a Wednesday, but I will be working this weekend.

I hope everyone is having a great week, halfway through!

7 Replies to “Taking advantage of the sunshine”

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

    1. Thank you! I am sure many more posts will follow, I tend to wear my heart on my sleeve and say things that I am feeling…which aren’t alqays talked about openly. I think it is worth it if it helps someone else!

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am very new to blogs and seriously loved you’re web-site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with incredible posts. Cheers for sharing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

