God Bless Texas

 

I love Texas.  They say that if you don’t like the weather, just wait 5 minutes and it will change.  Well that it will!  Saturday I went out for a run and had to layer up because it was overcast, windy, and 39 degrees and Sunday I got to wear shorts because it was sunny and 65!  Side note: if you have large quads like I do, Under Armor has the shorts for you!  I struggle finding shorts to fit my quads properly and UA has some that work well.  I digress…I finished week 5 of the C25k program, which concluded with 20 minutes of jogging.  It felt good to get out and run for 20 minutes; it is so psychological for me once I get past the 10 minute mark.  I know that I can physically run for several miles, it is the mindset of WANTING to get out there and do it that sometimes makes it tough for me.  That is why I had to stop training in the past when I was training for a marathon.  I was miserable and running for miles…and miles…it was our 18 mile day and I got to mile 7 and thought “why in the world am I doing this?!” I didn’t have a good reason anymore like; “I really enjoy it” or “I have a blast when I go run” so I stopped.  My reasons were; “I feel like I have to do this” and “I feel like it is expected of me and I will disappoint others” (which wasn’t true, everyone thought I did it because I enjoyed it) so I stopped that run and only went 11 miles.  Will I one day train for another marathon?  Possibly.  But it will be because I ENJOY it, not because I feel like I HAVE to do it.  I don’t want it to get to that point again.

I am now running to complete a 5K with my family, to be outside in the good weather, and to improve my health and get stronger with each step I take.

Leave a Reply

