The Space Between…

tumblr_m05756wyUF1r2xlc1o1_1280
Image from: womensviewsonnews.org

Did you know….it is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week.  Now you know!  I have written about my struggles with an eating disorder and some of the things that have helped contribute to it throughout my posts, so I will not go into detail here.  There is a wealth of information and resources available online, and I found the NEDA (National Eating Disorder Association) website this week, which is full of information.

I wanted to share this video with everyone. “The Space Between Self-Esteem and Self Compassion”  It is fantastic! Kristen Neff puts things into perspective so well! She hits the nail on the head about how critical we can be of ourselves, but if a friend were in the same situation we would love and console them.  We do not give ourselves a break for making mistakes, which can lead to low self-esteem.  However, high self-esteem can come at the expense of others through comparing yourself to others and thinking, “well, at least I am not (fill in the blank) like them.”  Which gives yourself a higher self-worth because you feel better than someone else. When looking at it this way, it changes things a bit.  It is like it says in Matthew 22:39, “Love your neighbor as you love yourself.”  If you do not love yourself and have compassion for yourself, you cannot love others.  You cannot give what you do not have, and God has given us love – unending, unwavering, unconditional, perfect love.

I am a continuous work in progress, and my walk towards self compassion is no different.  I am a chronic negative self-talker (self-diagnosed 🙂 ) so this talk hit home for me.  I think that this drives many of us who are struggling with eating disorders or body image issues.  We constantly compare ourselves to others and feel that it is OK for someone else to make a mistake…but not us!  We must be appear to be perfect and have it all together – forgetting that it is our weaknesses and struggles that make us human and draw people nearer.

I am enjoying what I am learning about the Psychology of Eating and the psychological and physiological connection.  I believe that working on self-compassion will help drive results to a happier, healthier me!  You can do it, you are worth it!

2 Replies to “The Space Between…”

Leave a Reply

