Rejoice in the suffering

Job 36:15-16  He is wooing us...I love that thought. - every day, every sunrise, every flower.  He is amazing us with His glory
Job 36:15-16 He is wooing us…I love that thought. – every day, every sunrise, every flower. He is amazing us with His glory

Hawaii trip booked, WOD, laundry, grocery shopping and “Get Out of That Pit” completed!  It was a fairly productive yet lazy day off.   (I did my laundry by myself; I didn’t make it out to my parents’ casa.)  Looks like it is going to be a gorgeous day today, I might have to go out for a run this afternoon after my meeting….we’ll see how that goes.  I am tempted to head to the gym and work on my pull-ups and box jumps; neither of those are my strongest skills by a long shot!  (as in – I can’t do either of them…once)

This morning I started reading 2 Corinthians and man, it is so good!  There are so many verses and messages that are standing out to me that I am a little upset I haven’t read it before now.  There is a reason I am reading it during this season of my life, which I love about that.  It is just what I need when I need it.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-7 (emphasis mine)

I love this: “…the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.”  He is the great comforter; He comforts us in our times of need so that we may comfort others.  There is a reason behind our struggles that we are going through; we are becoming the person He has planned for us to be!  He has a plan to use our problems to help build His kingdom and share His comfort and love with those who don’t know Him yet.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kindsbecause you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4 (emphasis mine)

Did you catch that?  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds” consider it JOY when you face trials.  Why?  Because He will COMFORT us to use us to help others!  We will be stronger that we were when the trials began and have a better understanding to help others struggling with similar problems.

God has a plan to use us to bring Him glory and share His love with everyone around us.  How will you be used to help others?

One Reply to “Rejoice in the suffering”

Leave a Reply

