(some of) The Results are In!

One step closer to really figuring out what is going on with me, without have to guess and do one thing at a time. I went back to the nurse prac yesterday to discuss the results from my blood work. I would like to take this time to brag about my cholesterol…my HDL cholesterol number (the good stuff) was 102 and my triglycerides were 54, that is pretty dang good if I do say so myself! Jimmy Moore, author of “Cholesterol Clarity: What the HDL is Wrong with my Numbers?” recommends HDL greater than 70 and triglycerides below 70…I’m good! My liver enzyme numbers were within the “good” range too, it was good to see that. I am definitely on the right track to better health! My thyroid looked normal and blood count and all of that jazz was good too.
Things that weren’t the best – my hormones. SHOCKING. I now have measurable estradiol, which is an improvement considering it was below the measurable limit last year at this time when I had them checked. The number was 24 and the lower limit is 19, so I just barely squeezed by in there – progress. However, my progesterone was not measurable. This confirms what my nutritionist had been thinking from a low progesterone standpoint, so we are on track there. However, I have returned the adrenal panel to be sent off for testing and I do the last hormone saliva sample on Thursday, so we will have a months worth of information to chart my hormones. We are going to wait until the results from those tests come back before moving forward with any supplements, so I might as well throw a few more tests in there while we wait, right?! That was my thought – let’s just go ahead and test for everything now so we don’t have to wait a month each step of the way. So I am going to have my detox pathways checked and do a bacteria/parasite test. Those sound lovely, don’t they? I will send those in Monday and meet back with my nurse prac in about a month once she gets all of those results back to develop an action plan. Until then what will I do? A tweak in my diet begins on Monday, after my birthday. She suggested that I try the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) lifestyle, which she has seen improvements from. For me that means no complex carbs such as sweet potatoes and parsnips plus no mucilaginous foods like okra and chia, and no flax. I have a list written down of foods that are on the “illegal” list for me, and it really isn’t too bad since I have been 100% paleo. I am going to start on Monday because I have sweet potatoes and parsnips in my kitchen that I need to get eaten then I will be 100% SCD compliant. This will be a temporary change, guessing 3-6 months and then go from there.
I have to head out to another lovely day at the plant, I hope everyone has a Wonderful Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

