R-E-S-P-E-C-T

It is a Saturday in September, therefore college football is on. Duh. 🙂 James is watching the game as I finish the Divergent series. I read the first book early this year, started the second, but didn’t finish it. I am planning to start it over and finish the series soon. It isn’t too shabby; we watched the movie and kept saying things similar to “That isn’t how it happens in the book!” We had the same issue with Heaven is for Real. Great book! The movie wasn’t bad, but there were some differences that I didn’t find particularly necessary.
So, a bit of a fill in on my life from my absence – my boyfriend’s name is James and I met him last April at an Emmaus event. We started dating at the end of December and were doing the distance relationship thing until June when I got a job with the same company he is with and I moved! He is an electrical engineer and I am mechanical…we could probably make some cool stuff together lol we have put together a hammock, that is as much as we have built together. But it went really well! I was pleased with that; those moments can get a little heated – especially when you have two engineers together. He is quite a blessing, I could not have imagined a more perfect person for me! God’s plans are much better than our own. His timing and plans are perfect. More on that later 😉
Anywho, yesterday I was eating lunch with a co-worker and a woman came in the room who I have only spoken to in passing. She was talking about someone that she doesn’t get along with and ended with “respect is earned, not given” while shaking her finger. Now, she started her conversation with my co-worker as; “this doesn’t leave this room…” while I am sitting right there at the table. She does’t know me from Eve, yet she is going off about someone saying that she doesn’t want to tell others. Yeah, I am sure we are the only people she is saying this to…I took that as, “I am going to tell you, and the people down the hall, and anyone else who will listen.” I am obviously not going to go into what she was saying, because it isn’t to leave the room. I keep secrets. And it didn’t matter anyways. O drama. Anyways – the point of this was her statement of “respect is earned, not given” I have been thinking about this for most of the morning. I have agreed with this statement in the past and even said it myself a few times. However, I have reached a point in my life where I struggle with this. People deserve respect. All people; no matter who they are or what they do – deserve respect. We are all making an impact on those around us, good or bad. We are all making a difference, and I believe that most people want to feel as if they matter. I know that it is not easy to treat everyone with respect due to their behavior or their reputation, but I still think that it should be done! (trust me – I have a hard time doing this at times)
We don’t know or understand what others are really going through. We don’t know what in their past has caused them to become who they are today, so why not give them the benefit of doubt and believe that they are truly good people somewhere inside!? I know when I was at a low point with my eating disorder and such I was not always a good person to those that I love. I am not going to lie – I was cranky and not fun to be around. I had a lot of stuff going on that I didn’t even realize at the time. I look back now and realize I was not myself during that time, but that has changed. I am happier now than I have ever been before, and probably more empathetic and compassionate towards others. It took me several years to get to this point, but it was worth the valley. Maybe others are in the valley.

I try to keep in mind Maya Angelou’s quote:
People will forget what you said
People will forget what you did
But people will never forget how you made them feel.

Respect everyone. They have been through a journey that we know nothing about.

Leave a Reply

