Not everything changes…

I wrote about some of the changes, but there are some things that haven’t changed.  I am still figuring out my hormone situation.  I went back to the nutritionist for after a year of not taking any supplements or talking to him.  I wanted to see what my body would do without the supplements and herbs, hoping that it would balance itself out on its own.  But I guess for that you need balance in your life.  I wouldn’t say that would perfectly describe the past year of my life as I wrote about previously.  Great? Absolutely.  Balanced?  No.
Last year started with packing on 10 pounds a month from the herbs that he had me on, which he promised would “just come right off” when I was off of them…well if “right off” meant over a year, then he might have been right.  When I came off of the herbs the weight stopped increasing, but did not just come right off.
I was slowly losing weight this year and dropped two of the four sizes that I added to my closet, then shortly after the wedding that seemed to stop.  My work pants started feeling a little bit more snug again, and I am back up about one size.  “OK, I can handle this.  My waist size does not define me, and my husband loves me just the way I am.”  Those were my thoughts, and I really was fine.  James was great and seems to say the perfect things.  I jokingly get onto him for that when he makes me cry because he says just the right thing!  Silly boy.  Anywho, so I put on a little weight (I don’t own a scale – so I have no idea how much) then I started getting breakouts again.  Are you serious?  I am 27 years old, I thought I was past this whole breakout thing.  The icing on the cake was this April when my allergies flared up.  I haven’t had allergy symptoms in four years..then I got hit hard.  I couldn’t breathe.  My asthma was terrible.  We called my parents one night and they found an inhaler that they delivered at 9PM…which had expired in 2007.  But it worked, so I was not about to complain.  I could breathe.
That was it.  I had enough with getting frustrated with my body and wondering what in the world was going on.  I figured it was hormone related, so I called to make an appointment with my nurse practitioner and nutritionist.  I couldn’t get into either until late May/early June so I waited…impatiently of course.
I went to the nutritionist yesterday, and he confirmed my suspicions.  It is my hormones.  He believes that what I had been though in a ten month timeframe was stressful for my system even though I didn’t feel stressed.  I believe that, and there were definitely moments I felt stressed!  Not around the wedding, but other things going on at the end of last year.  He believes that I have estrogen dominance and it isn’t getting out of my system and slowing down my liver which caused my allergies to flare up again.  He thinks that we caught it early and that I am teetering on the edge, so he called yesterday with the supplement list and got them shipped my way.  I am ready to start them, and ready to be done.  I am not looking forward to jacking with my hormones again, but if it fixes them I suppose it is worth it.
James has repeatedly told me that we will do whatever we have to do to get me healthy again, and I am so thankful for his response and understanding to my concerns.  I don’t want to go through the saliva tests and such that I did in 2013 for hormone and adrenal panel, but I guess I will if I have to.  I am not looking forward to that.  I really hope these supplements work.
I have also begun dabbling in essential oils.  I used lemon, lavender, and peppermint in local honey for my allergies and it really seemed to work.  I forgot one day and me and my office neighbors regretted it from my nose blowing the whole morning.  I will continue to trial different things with them and see how they work.  I am typically up for “hippy dippy doo dah” things like the oils.  I am getting my hand scanned tomorrow to see what oils this contraption believes I need.  This scanner seems hippy dippy and far out there even for me, so that is saying something.  Apparently it is based on quanutm physics…part of me thinks they say that so you don’t question how it really works and the validity of it. “O, it is quatum physics, you just wouldn’t understand.”  Try me, I will do my best to keep up.  I suppose it is too quick for me to judge since I haven’t ever seen this thing in person, so I will go in with an open mind…and palm.
This post was not about a cute puppy story, I am sorry.  Those will come.  Instead I will leave you with a cute puppy picture.  This is when we had all of the snow around here.  She found a warm spot in front of the fireplace and it got to the point that she would bark at it if she were cold and it weren’t on!  She’s a smart one.  My husband made it in the picture to, isn’t he fabulous?  He doesn’t have a crazy mustache, that is just what it looks like in the picture…

10154084_10103055128504948_668193892527254350_n

Leave a Reply

